RD Dental College

“8th International Yoga Day 2022”: “Yoga for Humanity”

21 April-14 May 2022

On the occasion of “Azadi Ka Amrut Mahotsav”,  Physical Education and Sports Committee and Wellness Centre of VSPM’s Dental College and Research Centre, Nagpur took the lead, guided by Dr. Usha Radke, Dean, VSPM’s DCRC, Nagpur and organized 3 months programmes of “8th International Yoga Day 2022” with the Theme: “Yoga for Humanity” in collaboration with all the Institutes of VSPM Academy of Higher Education, NKP Salve Institute of Medical Sciences & Research Centre, & LMH, VSPM’s College of Physiotherapy &VSPM’s Madhuribai Deshmukh Institute of Nursing Education, Nagpur in accordance with GOI, Ministry of Ayush, UGC & MUHS, Nashik Guidelines from April-June 2022.


The first program began on the occasion of Inauguration of Sports events of Annual Social Gathering of VSPM’s DCRC on 21st April 2022 with a Guest Lecture by well-known National Volleyball Champion Dr. Madhavi Mardikar, Head, Dept. of Physical Education, Institute of Science, Nagpur & Coordinator, PGTD, RTMNU, Nagpur on ‘Importance of Yoga for Physical & Mental Fitness for Healthcare Students’.

Dr. Neha Gotmare, HOD, Electrotherapy & Electro diagnosis, VSPM’S College of Physiotherapy, Nagpur, conducted a demonstration and practise session on ‘Common Yoga Protocol’ for Dental and Physiotherapy college students and interns on May 14, 2022. Mrs. Sulabha Kulkarni, S Yoga Trainer, Shri Janardan Swami Yogabhyasi Mandal, Nagpur, led a workshop on ‘Common Yoga Protocol’ for teaching and non-teaching staff from all four institutes on June 15, 2022.

On June 20, 2022, Online Panel Discussion was conducted on the topic of “Importance of Yoga in Today’s Era” with distinguished panellists Dr. Vrunda Pimpalkhute, MD (Internal Medicine), Registrar, FAMCO Dept. SQUH, Muscat, Dr. Mrunal Phatak, Dean Academics, Professor and Head, Dept. of Physiology AIIMS, Nagpur, Dr. Madhavi Mardikar, Head,  Dept. of Phy. Edu., IOS, & Coordinator- PGTD, RTMNU Nagpur & Dr. Pooja M. Akhtar, Head, Dept. of Kinesiotherapy & Physical Diagnosis, VSPM’s College of Physiotherapy, Nagpur. Panel discussion was conducted by Dr. Jaishree Chahande. The audience responded positively, and the panellists’ proposals to incorporate yoga into the curriculum of healthcare students sparked a lively deliberation.

A well-received Webinar on “Yoga for Well-being” by renowned International faculty Dr. Vrunda Pimpalkhute, MD (Internal Medicine), Registrar, FAMCO Dept. SQUH, Muscat, which was moderated by Dr. Rakhee Tirpude, MD (Medical Physiology), Asso. Professor, NKP SIMS, Nagpur, was then held. All participants were welcomed by Dr. Anuj Chandak, Chairman, Physical Education & Sports Committee, VSPM’s DCRC, Nagpur. All are encouraged to incorporate yoga into their daily routines for a healthy body, mind, and soul by Dr. Usha Radke, Dean, and Dr. Ramakrishna Shenoi, Vice Dean, VSPM’s DCRC, Nagpur during the inauguration of Panel discussion and Webinar.

The staff and students from all four Institutes came together to celebrate the 8th International Yoga Day on June 21, 2022, at Matoshree Auditorium, with Dr. Madhavi Mardikar, Head of the Department of Physical Education, IOS, and Coordinator-PGTD, RTMNU Nagpur and Certified Yoga Trainer was the Guest demonstrator for the “Mass Yoga session.” The session began with the lighting of a traditional lamp by the dignitaries. Dr. Usha Radke, Dean, VSPM’s DCRC, and Dr. Kajal Mitra, Dean, NKP SIMS, gave welcome addresses and informed the students about the benefits of yoga in their lives, and they welcome the guest trainer. Dr. Maneesha Deshpande, Principal, VSPM’s College of Physiotherapy, Dr. Ramakrishna Shenoi, Vice-Dean, VSPM’s DCRC, Dr. Vilas Thombre, Vice-Dean, NKP SIMS and HOD’s and senior faculties of all Institutes present during yoga session.

Under the guidance of yoga professionals, the Mass Yoga Session was launched with the goal of making it a regular practise and Yoga Pledge was taken by all. This yoga session included standing, sitting, prone, and supine asanas as well as pranayama and meditation, and the guest highlighted the sincerity of daily practise. During the mass yoga session, everyone engaged fully. Dean of VSPM’s DCRC, Dr. Maneesha Deshpande, Principal of VSPM’s College of Physiotherapy, and Dr. Ramakrishna Shenoi, Vice Dean, VSPM’s DCRC, Nagpur presented a token of appreciation to the guest trainer.

Inter-collegiate competitions for ‘Yoga Awareness’ were held for a week, and students and faculty participated enthusiastically. Dr. Jaishree Chahande, coordinator from VSPM’s DCRC organised an Online Quiz competition for UG and PG students and interns; Dr. Bhavana Bhirud and Dr. Rakhee Tirpude, Coordinators from NKP SIMS, organised the E-poster competition; Dr. Pushpa Rewatkar and Dr. Kartik Shah, Coordinators from VSPM’s Physiotherapy College, organised the Essay and Video Making Competitions; and Mrs. Gauri Padghan and Mrs. Sneha Betwar, Coordinators from MDINE organised the Slogan and Rangoli Competitions.

All coordinators declared the winners, and the Chief Guest and Heads of the Institutes presented them with certificates of appreciation. The programme was led by Miss Kiran Sontakke, an intern with VSPM’s DCRC. Dr. Usha Radke commended everyone for their collaborative efforts and Dr. Madhavi Mardikar for making demonstrations simple to understand and sparing her valuable time. Dr. Jaishree Chahande, Chief Coordinator, IYD 2022 and In-charge Wellness Centre, expresses gratitude to the Management, Dean, Vice-Dean, Panellist, Speakers,  Moderator, Yoga Trainers, HOD’s, Faculties, students, volunteers and all coordinators for helping to make this programme a huge success.

Winners of Inter-collegiate Competitions:


Winners of e-poster Competition Organized by NKP SIMS:


  • 1st Prize – Priyal Wasule.
  • 2nd Prize – Dr Jaishree Chahande
  • 3rd Prize – for 2 participants. – Dr Anita Kahar and Sneha Bhujade.


 Winners of Online Yoga Quiz Competition Organized by VSPMDCRC:

     Winners from Dental College:

  • 1st Prize – Riya Rohra
  • 2nd Prize – Mayur Tupate
  • 3rd Prize – Gayatri Nagdeve

Winners from Physiotherapy College:

  • 1st Prize – Pratik Shahane
  • 2nd Prize – Rajshree Chore
  • 3rd Prize – Jinal Patel

Winners from Nursing College:

  • 1st Prize – Dhanashree Tete
  • 2nd Prize – Saundarya Sidam
  • 3rd Prize – Saloni Sahu

Winners of Essay Competition Organized by VSPM’s College of Physiotherapy:

  • 1st Prize – Prachi Kewat
  • 2nd Prize – Samiksha Ghagre
  • 3rd Prize – Priyal Wasule


     Winners of Video making Competition Organized by VSPM’s College of



  • 1st rank- Sanidhi Ade (BDS II, VSPM dental college)
  • 2nd rank- Iram Gazi
  • 3rd rank- Dr. Gurpreet Juneja (MPTH I, VSPM college)


Winners of Slogan Competition Organized by VSPM’s Nursing College:

  • 1st Prize – Pooja Bavanjule (Bsc Nursing 1st Year)
  • 2nd Prize – Priyal Vasule (Dental 1st Year)
  • 3rd Prize – Shubhangi Bisen (Bsc Nursing 1st Year)


Winners of Rangoli competition Organized by VSPM’s Nursing College:


  • 1st Prize -Prerana Chikate, Sneha Bhujade & Kiran Sontakke (Dental Interns)
  • 2nd Prize – Rupali Chaudhary. ( GNM 3rd year)


Scroll to Top